Thursday, 9 February 2017

Forfar amateur Balneaves has best scratch score (66) over Carnoustie Burnside
This week the Midland Golfers' Alliance held the Jim Ward team competition at Carnoustie over the Burnside course.
Forfar amateur Liam Balneaves led the way with a scratch score of two-under-par 66.
Winner of the handicap prize was Chris Westland, who plays off 10 at Alloa Golf Club, with a net score of 65. Chris also helped his team of Pitreavie professional Paul Brookes  and four-handicapper Stuart Birrell (Leven Thistle) to win the team prize with a score of 58.
Leading Scratch Scores
 par 68
66                 Liam Balneaves                           Forfar, 1
67                 Rory Tinker                                  Piperdam Osprey ap
                     Gary Tough                                  Edzell, 1
69                 Scott Robertson                           Carnoustie, 1
70                 Craig Knowles                             Glenrothes p
                     Mike Mackenzie                          Edzell ap
71                 Gordon Laing                               Lundin, 3
                     Fraser Mann                                 Carnoustie p
                     Bill Taylor                                    Edzell, 2
                     John Baxter                                  Lundin, 4
Leading Handicap Scores
65                    Liam Balneaves                        Forfar,1
                         Chris Westland                        Alloa, 10
66                    Gary Tough                               Edzell, 1
67                    Rab Baldie                                 Crieff, 8
                         John Baxter                              Lundin, 4
68                    Scott Robertson                        Carnoustie, 1
                         Gordon Laing                           Lundin, 3
                         Stuart Birrell                             Leven Thistle, 4
                         Douglas Gibbons                    Muckhart, 7
                         Brian Main                                Lundin, 14
Leading Team Scores
65                    Paul Brookes                             Pitreavie, p
                        Chris Westland                         Alloa, 10
                        Stuart Birrell                             Leven Thistle, 4
66 bih             Norman Dyce                             Strathmore, 1
                       Jim Curley                                 Lundin, 11
                       Mike Mackenzie                        Edzell  ap
66                   Alan Didcock                             Alloa, 11
                       Barry Hynd                                Leven Thistle, 2
                       Bill Cunningham                       Alloa, 13
Qualifiers for the Perla Shower Panels Championship at Arbroath in April
Gordon Laing                                   Lundin, 3
Bob Stewart                                     Tulliallan, 2
John Black                                         Scotscraig, 3
Qualifiers for the McQueen Shield at Arbroath in April
Liam Balneaves                               Forfar,1
Chris Westland                                Alloa, 10
Next meeting
Wednesday, February 15
Charleton Golf Course
Tee reserved: 8.30 - 12.30
Lee Sutherland



Post a comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google